Primitively called Jahuel baths, the hot springs belonged to the Guilisasti Family of Santa María. In 1875 Don Manuel Robles, who already had experience in hospitality, leased the sector where the springs sprout. In this place they received passengers with carriages, coachmen and rides, according to the customs of the time. The excursions promised an idyllic place, with a privileged climate, full of quillayes, maitenes and carob trees from which sprouted crystalline water springs forming generous pools to bathe. Although the accommodation was in a tent or in rudimentary constructions, the preparation of food was of quality and the careful attention of young men with their classic attire made it a distinguished experience.